Ayeyawady – Chao Phraya – Mekong Economic Cooperation Strategy (ACMECS)

Ayeyawady - Chao Phraya - Mekong Economic Cooperation Strategy (ACMECS) is a framework for economic cooperation at the sub-region level. It was established to promote balanced development, decrease the economic gaps between member countries (Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Vietnam, and Thailand) and promote sustainable prosperity at a sub-regional level. The first meeting of ACMECS leaders was help on 12 November 2003 in Bagan, Myanmar where member countries’ leaders signed the Bagan Declaration to establish the ACMECS cooperative framework. 

The BOT has a role as a Committee Member and Sub-Coordination Committee to achieve the objective of economic synchronization, both in promotion regulatory connectivity and promoting trade and investment as well as promoting financial cooperation with member countries to drive payment connectivity and the usage of local currencies between Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, and Vietnam.

International Cooperation Framework

Additional Information

International Strategy Division, International Cooperation Department, Corporate Relations Group

E-mail: IND-InterStrategy@bot.or.th