South East Asian Central Banks (SEACEN) 


The SEACEN Governors’ Meeting originated as an unofficial Governors’ meeting the IMF’s SEA Voting Group to discuss economic and financial issues of interest to member countries at the time. The first SEACEN meeting took place on 3-4 February 1966 in Bangkok as an unofficial meeting among 7 central bank governors from the SEA Voting Group (Lao PDR, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Vietnam, and Thailand) and was led by Dr. Puey Ungphakorn, the BOT governor at the time, along with Malaysia’s central bank governor, Tun Ismail Bin Mohamed Ali, P.M.N.

At The 2nd Governors’ Meeting in the Philippines in 1967, Governors initiated the idea to establish a training center in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Afterwards, at the 7th Governors’ Meeting in 1972 approved to establish the unofficial SEACEN Research and Training Centre, whereby Bank Negara Malaysia’s staff will be responsible for training staff from member countries. On the 3rd of February 1982 the Agreement to set up the SEACEN Research and Training Centre was formally signed at 17th Governors’ Meeting in Thailand. 

Promote financial, central banking, and economic knowledge and understanding as well as other issues of interest to member central banks; and

Stimulate and promote cooperation between member central banks in research and training.

SEACEN’s member central banks will be invited to the Governors’ Meeting to exchange perspectives and experiences on economic, financial, and central banks’ monetary policies issues, which can be categorized as 3 types:

19 Ordinary member countries comprising of central banks from Indonesia, Malaysia, Nepal, the Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Myanmar, South Korea, Taiwan, Mongolia, Brunei, Papua New Guinea, Cambodia, Vietnam, China, Lao PDR, India, and Hong Kong. Each country takes turn to rotate at Chair and Co-Chair.   

8 Associate member countries comprising of Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Macau, Pakistan, Tonga, Vanuatu, and Fiji 

8 Observers comprising of Afghanistan, Iran, Japan, Maldives, New Zealand, Samoa, Solomon, and Timor-Leste



Governor's Bank of Thailand



Dr. Puey Ungphakorn



Dr. Puey Ungphakorn



Mr. Nukun Prachuapmo



Mr. Kamjorn Satirakul



Mr. Rerngchai Marakanond



Dr. Tarisa Watanagase



Dr. Veerathai Santiprabhob

International Cooperation Framework

Additional Information

International Cooperation Team 1-2, International Cooperation Department, Corporate Relations Group